Pumpkin Pie Cookies

A few weeks ago, I was at the grocery store and saw huge cans of 100% pure pumpkin.  Last year, I couldn’t find it ANYWHERE here in Bahrain, so I bought a few right then and there.

The cans sat in my cabinet while I scoured the internet for a good recipe.  I finally found one!  Usually, the recipes I use are all over the internet, but this one had an interesting ingredient I had never seen before: Instant Pudding Mix…I wasn’t too sold on it, but I had 3 huge cans of pumpkin sitting in my cabinet and I was assured by my mom that there wasn’t going to be a shortage of pumpkin this year.  So I decided to go for it.

 

Pumpkin Cookies

INGREDIENTS
1/4 cup butter, softened (1/2 stick)

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 egg

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 box french vanilla instant pudding mix

2 tbsp milk

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix butter, sugar, pumpkin, egg, spices, salt, vanilla and milk. In a second bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and pudding mix until evenly distributed. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture, stirring until smoothly incorporated. Spoon batter onto a greased baking sheet, using heaping tablespoons for portions.

Bake for 12 minutes, or until a knife inserted into a cookie comes out clean.

I got about 36 cookies out of the batch.

3 responses to “Pumpkin Pie Cookies

  1. Yo, did you say you had a couple left over? -= ) they sound lishous!!

  2. Have you ever tried preachers cookies?

  3. I completely understand the pumpkin thing. I’m slightly obsessed with it… these look YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

