Snickerdoodle Blondies

Today was Keith’s first day back at work after my parents left Bahrain.  When Keith is at work, I tend to get bored.  When I get bored, I either bake or eat–usually both! So I looked up some healthy recipes and I didn’t find any that I wanted to make, next I looked up some dessert recipes that used Nutella.  I found a few, but discovered I didn’t have quite enough for the recipes.

Then I got a craving for sugar cookies. (Random thoughts, but just stay with me!) So I started looking up recipes for sugar cookies, but in the back of my mind I still wanted something chocolate.  After about 30 minutes of being wishy-washy about what I wanted to bake, I found this recipe for Snickerdoodle Blondies! They’re not chocolate, but they are so good, you’ll forget that you wanted chocolate (for a few minutes at least)!

Here’s what ya do:

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg (I used 1/4 cup of egg beaters)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tbsp sugar + 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F (176*C). Line an 8×8-inch baking pan with aluminum foil. Spray foil with a non-stick spray (I didn’t do this and it took 5 extra minutes to pick the foil off the bottom of the blondies!)

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light. Beat in salt, egg and vanilla extract until well combined. Add in flour and stir until no streaks of dry ingredients remain. Pour dough – it will be thick – into prepared baking dish and smooth it into an even layer.

Stir together remaining 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp ground cinnamon. Sprinkle dough evenly with cinnamon sugar mixture.

Bake for about 30 minutes, until bars are set and the edges are just very lightly browned.

Let the blondies cool in the foil inside the pan.  If you remove the foil, the edges will crumble and be a disappointment.  It’s hard to let them cool ALL the way, but resist temptation and it will be worth it when you start to try to peel them off of the foil!

I had a few pieces with a glass of milk. Keith had a piece as dessert with his dinner and he said they were great.

Hope you enjoy!!

One response to “Snickerdoodle Blondies

  1. I declare these… DELICIOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

