Baked Oatmeal

Usually Keith eats Kashi Oatmeal for breakfast, but since the exchange won’t be getting another shipment of for another month (!!), I’ve started making baked oatmeal.  I don’t usually eat anything for breakfast, but I love baked oatmeal, so I’m thinking it’s a good deal all around.

Oatmeal just isn’t very photogenic!

Here’s what I did:
Mix together  3 cups of oatmeal (I used Quaker Oats old-fashioned oats), 1 tablespoon of baking powder, and 2 teaspoons of salt.

Next, mix together 1/4 cup of oil, 1/4 cup of applesauce, 1 cup of milk, 2 eggs, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla (or almond) extract and add it to the oatmeal mixture.

After it’s all mixed together and all the oatmeal is coated with the egg mixture, pour it into a greased 8×8 baking dish. Bake it for about 25-30 minutes at 350*F (176*C).  Make sure you use the “toothpick test” to make sure it’s cooked all the way through. The original recipe calls for double the amount described above baked in a 9×13 pan, but that’s too much oatmeal for the two of us!

After it’s out of the oven and cooled, cut it up into candy bar sized pieces and drizzle with honey.  I usually add about 2 tablespoons of milk to mine to moisten it up.

I make ours the night before so that I don’t have to think before I have my first cup of coffee!!

3 responses to “Baked Oatmeal

  1. I never knew I can make this baked but your idea sounds good!

  2. I like it, I may have to start making some of that for some snacktime fun.

  3. What a nice publish. I actually adore reading these varieties or posts. I can?t wait to find out what other people have to say.

Leave a Reply

