Cold Coffee

I was chatting with my sister on Facebook in the early hours of the morning today. At one point I looked up at the clock and realized that if I wanted to drink any coffee and still sleep well today, I need to get going with my coffee-drinking.

I really didn’t want anything hot because, well, it’s Bahrain and it’s hot outside.  So I opted for a “blended” coffee drink.  I looked on the internet for some fun coffee drinks, but they all seemed too complicated to make while at the same time keeping the conversation going with my sister.

So, I kinda just made it up as I went along and it turned out surprisingly well!

First I brewed 3 cups of coffee.  On the internet, the recipes said to use espresso but I don’t have one of those fancy machines yet, so I just made the coffee extra, extra strong.  After the coffee was made, I had to stick it in the fridge to let it cool down some.

After about 15 minutes, I didn’t want to wait for it to cool down any longer…so I started putting my blender together.  I put a little more than a cup of ice cubes in the blender, then I poured the coffee in to let it cool down a little more while I chatted some more with my sister.

Next, I put 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder in with the coffee.  The recipes online said to add some chocolate syrup, but I threw the last of our bottle away a few weeks ago.  Then I put about 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar in with the coffee mixture. I also added the rest of the milk we had in the fridge.  It was probably about a 1/4 cup, maybe a 1/2.

Then I blended it together.

I may have added more sugar or ice at this point but I was so excited that my coffee was almost ready, I don’t really remember.  🙂

After I had taste-tested it straight from the blender and it met my expectations, I poured it into a tall glass I had waiting in the fridge and enjoyed it.

It was probably way too much caffeine for my system, but it was really good!!

Cold Blended Coffee

3 cups of cooled coffee

1 cup of ice

3 Tablespoons of cocoa (I used the Hershey’s brand)

3-4 Tablespoons of sugar

1/4-1/2 cup of milk

Blend together. Add more sugar or cocoa to suit your tastes.

Enjoy.   🙂

One response to “Cold Coffee

  1. MMM that sounds yummy, and I don’t even like coffee.. = )

Leave a Reply

