Homemade “Arby’s” Sauce

Last night, I was laying in bed and was craving an Arby’s Roast Beef Sandwich with Horsey and Arby’s sauce.  When my husband and I woke up, the craving was still there so we decided to order the closest thing we have to Arby’s here in Bahrain–Hardee’s.

We still had a problem though, Hardee’s doesn’t have Arby’s sauce.  I sat down at the computer and Google searched a recipe.  What I found wasn’t exactly Arby’s sauce but from 8 time zones away, it tasted pretty darn close!

This is what I came up with:

1 C. Water
1/2 C. Ketchup
2 Tbsp. Brown Sugar
1/4 C. White Vinegar
3/4 tsp. onion powder
3/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. paprika
3 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
1/8 tsp. Salt
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
Corn Starch Mixture (thickening mixture)
1 Tbsp. Corn Starch
2 Tbsp. Water
Mix well set aside.
I dumped all of  the ingredients into a small saucepan (except for the cornstarch mixture) with the heat on medium low. I simmered it for about 10 minutes, stirring several times. After 10 minutes I added the corn starch mixture and stirred well. When the sauce began to thicken, I let it simmer on a very low temperature for ten minutes. Next, I just removed from heat. The mixture was similar in thickness to thin steak sauce, so it was great for sandwich-dipping. We didn’t use all of it, so I plan on storing it in a covered container in the refrigerator.
2 responses to “Homemade “Arby’s” Sauce

  1. Are those onion rings, on the side…? That recipe sounds good!!

  2. They’re soggy curly fries from our Hardee’s delivery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

