Chocolate Fudge Cherry Cake

Today I went to the grocery store to buy some disposable cake pans, but forgetting cash, I only had my debit card with me.  I got the cake pans and felt a little embarrassed to pay such a small amount with a card.  So, I walked up and down a few aisles to see if I could think of something to buy.  Of course, I ended up on the baking aisle and bought some dark chocolate cake mix.

I got home and decided I didn’t want to make JUST a chocolate cake, so I sat down at the computer and searched Google for “chocolate cake mix recipes” (or something like that).  It came up with a bunch of recipes, but I weeded them out by the ingredients that I had in my pantry already.

The winner ended up being a recipe from About.com.  I forget about that website having recipes and it always surprises me!

It’s simple really.  Here’s what I did:

I mixed 1 box of chocolate cake mix (like I said, I used dark chocolate), 1 can of cherry pie filling, and 2 eggs in a bowl.  I also added a handful or 2 of chocolate chips that I had in the cabinet.  The recipe didn’t call for them, but chocolate chips never hurt! 🙂

I poured the mix into a 9×13 cake pan and baked it at 350*F (or 176*C) for 50 minutes. The recipe called for it to be baked for only 30 minutes, but my batter was still wobbly in the middle, so I kept it in the oven til a toothpick came out clean.

The recipe on About.com had a frosting recipe on the same page, but I usually don’t use frosting because it covers up the flavor of the cake and it’s just so darn messy!

Once I uploaded the picture, I realized that the cake looks kinda funky, so maybe you should put some frosting on it….but you don’t have to. It tastes UH-MAZING without it.

One response to “Chocolate Fudge Cherry Cake

  1. It’s delicious. Nice and moist with the chocolate chips and cherry chuncks as little surprises in each bite 🙂

Leave a Reply

