Banana Bread

Keith picked up a few bananas for me at the grocery store the other day because I thought I wanted to make a loaf of pumpkin bread.  That was about 5 days ago and this afternoon they were still sitting on my countertop.  I didn’t really want to make a loaf of bread with pumpkin today (shocking, I know), so I settled with a good ol’ banana bread….problem was I didn’t have a recipe.

So what did I do? The usual, I hopped online to find one! I ended up going to BettyCrocker.com and found this wonderful recipe for a “lighter version” of banana bread.  I didn’t have exactly what it called for, so I’m not too sure of how “light” it really is…

The ingredients are:

1 1/4 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of applesauce

1/4 cup of margarine (I used melted Crisco because I didn’t have enough butter)

1/2 cup of egg product (I think they probably mean Egg Beaters, but we didn’t have any so I got Keith to beat 2 eggs for me)

1 1/2 cup of mashed very ripe bananas (we had 3, so I just smashed em all up)

1/2 cup of buttermilk (I didn’t have buttermilk either, so I took a 1/2 cup of regular milk and added a few dashes of lemon juice and let it set for about 5 minutes–that’s how you make homemade sour milk!)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (I added a couple of dashes…no measuring vanilla in this kitchen)

2 1/2 cups of flour

1 teaspoon each of baking soda and salt

1 cup of chopped nuts (I used a handful of walnuts and the rest of my bag of pecans for this bread)

I also added a handful of chocolate chips to the bread.

Mix the sugar, applesauce, and butter/margarine in a bowl.  Add the eggs (or egg substitute), buttermilk, and vanilla.  Stir til smooth.

Next, stir in bananas, flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir only until everything is moistened. (Side note: I never understood why recipes always said that, but I read up on it and the reason is if you over-mix the flour, it starts to release the gluten and makes the finished product chewy or tough. So don’t over-mix if you want a melt-in-your-mouth piece of bread!)

Then add your nuts and chocolate chips, if you want them.  I’m sure if you have somebody with a nut aversion or allergy, it would be fine without them.

Next, the recipe calls for you to put the batter in pans and bake em in the oven, but I  REALLY like using my bread maker, so I just dumped it all in the pan and set it on the bake cycle.

View of the Bahrain National Museum from our balcony

One response to “Banana Bread

  1. YUM!!! Oh my gosh, that bread looks so good. Have you tasted it yet? I really like the idea of adding chocolate chips……that cracks me up! lol

Leave a Reply

