French Toast Sticks

One of the worst things about living in Bahrain is the lack of fast food breakfast places like IHOP, Sonic, and Waffle House…you know the ones that serve breakfast pretty much all day.

When we woke up today, I was in the mood for Sonic’s french toast sticks. You know the ones-slightly chewy, but crunchy on the outside. So, I set out to make my own.

I had a 1/2 loaf of white bread that I had baked earlier in the week that was going stale really quick, so I had Keith slice the loaf then slice each slice into thirds (are you confused yet?!)  Then I stuck the slices in the freezer…ya gotta trust me on this one.  It sounds weird, but it keeps the bread from getting mushy when you put it in the egg mixture.

Next, I beat 2 eggs and about 3/4 of a cup of milk together in a pie plate.  I didn’t measure the milk, but make sure you add enough to make the mixture just slightly cream colored.  After that was all mixed up, I added a big dash of vanilla and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Make sure you add a good amount of vanilla; that’s what gets them to smell like Sonic’s breakfast offering!

After I had the toast slices in the freezer for about 15 minutes, I started heating the skillet up.  The trick I’ve found when making pancakes and french toast is to get the skillet hot enough that when you put a pat of butter in it melts almost immediately.

Once the skillet was hot and I had a good layer of butter covering the bottom, I took the slices out of the freezer and dunked them in the milk/egg mixture for a few seconds each.  When I first started making french toast, all the recipes said to keep the bread in there for at least 30 seconds. I don’t agree! If you leave them in there that long, you won’t have any bread to put in the skillet!  I just dunk em long enough for them to get covered with the egg mixture.

After you have covered em well enough with the batter, slap em into the skillet and don’t touch em for a good 15 seconds. After that you just wanna wiggle em a little to make sure they’re not sticking to the bottom of the pan.  In my opinion, the trick to good french toast and pancakes is to flip them only once.

After about 30 to 45 seconds, I add another tablespoon of butter. I guide it around all the little pieces of goodness frying in the pan and make sure all of them still aren’t sticking to the pan. Right about this time, start flipping them.  They should be a little browned and caramelized when you flip em….after that, you just repeat the process with the other side.

After they’re “done” enough for you, arrange them on the plate and cover them with warm syrup and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

