Biscuits and Gravy

We woke up this morning and I realized that I didn’t have any eggs in the fridge to make omelets.  So, I started racking my brain for breakfast recipes that didn’t include eggs. I remembered I bought a package of spicy Jimmy Dean sausage on sale last week and decided on Biscuits and Gravy.

For the recipe, I knew exactly where to look-The Pioneer Woman’s website.  But we still had a problem: In her recipe, she uses Grands biscuits and we didn’t have any of those either (Can you tell I need to go grocery shopping?!).

For the biscuits, I searched my Betty Crocker Ipod app and found some simple Bisquick biscuits.

Here’s what you do:
Take 2 1/4 cups of Bisquick (I use the Heart Healthy mix) and add 2/3 cups of milk. Mix em together til you get a smooth ball of dough.  If it’s sticky to the touch, add a little more Bisquick so that you can handle it without a mess.

Next,  put the ball of dough on a surface sprinkled with even more Bisquick (so that the dough doesn’t stick to the counter top). Roll or press the dough out to about 3/4 of an inch thick and then use a cookie cutter to cut out biscuits.  We didn’t have a cookie cutter, so I used a wineglass from the cabinet.

 

Stick em in the oven at 450*F for about 8-10 minutes or til they’re brown enough for ya.

 

 

 

For the rest of the recipe, I followed the Pioneer Woman’s recipe.

 

 

Keith was drinking his coffee while I was cooking this, so I recruited him to slice up the sausage for me!

 

 

 

He took all of the extra pictures on today’s post…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some biscuits that I forgot about in the oven!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Biscuits and Gravy

  1. I give this one ***** (that’s 5 stars 😉 I enjoyed this meal with a glass of pineapple-orange juice then finished with a cup of coffee and banana bread covered in butter and microwaved to warm and melt 🙂 Delicious breakfast, thank you honey!

  2. I love love love all the extra pictures! Introducing… Patti & Keith, the dynamic duo. She cooks & bakes, he makes it all look easy. Together, the 2 of them are unstoppable!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

