Vegetarian Pumpkin Bread

I was digging through my freezer last night trying to clean it out and I discovered my tupperware full of pureed pumpkin left over from my pasta sauce I made a week or so ago.  So I decided to make some bread with it.

I searched the internet for recipes for pumpkin bread that didn’t included eggs because I only have 2 left in my fridge and I’m VERY stingy with them 🙂
I found the Vegetarian  Resource Group’s website that has recipes! I scrolled through them because I was intrigued.  I’m not a vegetarian because I like my meat too much, but I’ve always been curious about people who make that food choice.  ANYWAY, long story short-I found a recipe for pumpkin bread.

Here’s what ya do:
Take:
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/4 cup water
2 Tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
1 Tablespoon molasses (I used some honey)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (I used allspice)
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups whole wheat bread flour (I used regular all-purpose flour)
1/2 cup raisins (I didn’t add these because I don’t always like raisins in my bread…)
1-1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast (I added the full packet of 2 1/4 tsp, and it caused the top to cave in, so just add 1 1/2 tsp!!)

Put them in your bread machine in the order that your manufacturer suggests and push start.  I have a West Bend 2-lb. machine that tells me to put the liquid in first, so that’s what I did.  I’m also a very worrisome bread maker owner, so I hover while everything is being mixed in case something goes wrong, but the loaf turned out wonderful. The top caved in a little, but that’s because I didn’t follow directions when it came to the amount of yeast to add.

The bread doesn’t have an overwhelming taste of pumpkin to it, but it is very moist and chewy.  I would recommend adding raisins to it (like the recipe says) because it could stand to be a little sweeter!

Leave a Reply

