Buffalo Chicken Casserole

I’ve gotten bored with making Keith the same meals over and over again, so last week I started digging for new and interesting casseroles.  I found a couple, but the one that I found for today was a Buffalo Chicken Casserole.

The recipe is kinda long, so you can click on the link and it’ll take you to the “real” recipe, but here’s what I did:

Yesterday I cooked 2 chicken breasts in the crockpot and chopped 3 stalks of celery and a half of bag of baby carrots.

Today, I sauteed the celery, carrots, and 3 cloves of garlic that I put through my garlic press.  I cooked them for about 5 minutes until they weren’t crunchy.  Then I added my shredded chicken.  I cooked that mixture until everything was warmed up.

While it was cooking, I mixed the 4 cups of milk with a 1/3 cup of cornstarch then added it to the skillet.

You heat that in the skillet on medium high for about 15 minutes or until the milk gets thick enough to coat the back of the spoon.  Make sure you stir VERY FREQUENTLY!!!  I have a burned section on the bottom of my skillet because I tried to multi-task….It didn’t work.

If you can multi-task, boil about 2 cups of elbow macaroni until they’re just a little tender.

After the skillet full of goodness is thickened, remove it from the heat and add 5 tablespoons of Frank’s Hot Sauce.  If you don’t have any Frank’s, you can use Texas Pete.  Keith tells me that every sailor owns a bottle….

Once the Texas Pete/Frank’s Hot Sauce is stirred in, take the macaroni and put a layer on the bottom of a 9×13 casserole dish.  On top of the pasta, layer the chicken mixture.  After that, add about 1/2 cup of crumbled blue cheese.

Bake it about 20 minutes at 350*F or until the casserole is bubbling.

Keith wasn’t a huge fan of it, but I really like how it incorporated all of the things you get when you order Hot Wings.

2 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Casserole

  1. Ok – So I don’t really cook but since Wade LOVES hot wings, I found a really wonderful recipe for it. I use 2 parts Frank’s Wing Sauce & 1 part Pico-Pica (depending on the size of the meal, but I usually do about 2/3 of the bottle of Franks & 1/3 of Pico-Pica). Put it in a small saucepan on low heat. Add butter. The more butter you add, the milder the taste (I do 2 batches, 1 very mild & 1 hot). Add a little garlic powder on top and simmer until the butter is melted, stirring frequently. That may improve the taste of the sauce. You could also try using rice instead of noodles which will absorb the sauce better adding more flavor. 🙂

  2. This sounds like something that even Dad would like….minus the hot sauce, of course!! lol I love this site….keep up the good job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

