Mini Pumpkin Muffins

So, I had 3 cans of pumpkin pie mix in my cabinet and I don’t like pumpkin pie….don’t ask me why I had 3 cans! Anyway, I searched Google for recipes using pumpkin pie mix.  I found about a million recipes for how to make pumpkin pie, but only a few on how to use up unwanted pumpkin pie mix.  I searched Libby’s website and just found too many recipes I wanted to try!  Then I found this recipe in my google search results: Oops I Bought Pumpkin Pie Mix Pumpkin Bread.  I thought it was a cute name, so I clicked on it and found that it also gives the time and temp for muffins!  So I went for it.

My heart wasn’t really set on muffins, but I remembered I had a mini-muffin tin in the storage closet.  I asked my husband, in the sweetest possible voice, if he would mind digging in the closet “real quick” for my muffin tin–only whenever he had the time!

This is the storage closet!

After we found the mini muffin pan, my sweater I was missing, 2 boxes full of coat hangers, my hand mixer, some spatulas, a chip clip, and some bumper stickers I headed back to the kitchen.

Here’s how I made the recipe:
In a large bowl, I mixed the flour, salt, sugar, baking soda and baking powder. In a small bowl, I mixed the huge can of pumpkin pie mix, a carton of egg beater (instead of 2 eggs), orange juice, and olive oil.  After that, I poured the pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture and mixed it with my newly-recovered hand mixer.  After it was thoroughly mixed, I stirred in about 1/2 cup of raisins and the rest of my bag of chocolate chips (about 3/4 cup).

I greased my mini muffin pan with shortening and scooped 1 tablespoon of batter into the small muffin wells.  I popped them in a 400*F (200*C) oven for about 9 or 10 minutes.

When I opened the oven door to take the pan out after 10 minutes, I about burned my eyebrows off…so be careful, that oven is HOT! 🙂

My batter made about 90 mini-muffins.  I plan on making a frosting of warm water and powdered sugar to drizzle over some of them, but leave some unfrosted to snack on with my coffee tomorrow morning.

 

One response to “Mini Pumpkin Muffins

  1. I LOL’d at the storage closet and the newly found items – it’s like shopping in your own store! Love it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

