Pumpkin Pancakes

So, I think I’m back on my pumpkin kick….For the past couple of days, I’ve wanted to make pancakes for breakfast.  We usually eat oatmeal for breakfast during the work week, but the store has been out of the kind we like so we’ve been eating different breakfasts.

Although the exchange has been out of our oatmeal, they miraculously had canned pumpkin when we did our shopping this weekend! So after sending text messages to several friends, I put 3 in the basket.  🙂

This morning I decided to make pumpkin pancakes.

Keith was home, so I got him to take the creative picture!

Here’s what I did:
Mix 1 cup of Bisquick, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 egg, 1/2 cup of pumpkin, and 2 teaspoons of sugar in a bowl.  Stir til the mixture is smooth and lump-free.

Next, heat a skillet with about a tablespoon of butter.  After it’s nice and hot, plop in 1/4 cup scoops of batter and “smoosh” out into pancake size.  Let them sizzle until the edges get dry.  Usually, you’re supposed to wait til the batter starts to get air bubbles on the uncooked side, but this batter is so thick that bubbles don’t form….so watch the edges!

Once you think you can flip them without making a mess, go ahead and flip em.  At this point I usually add a little more butter to the pan.  Let the second side sizzle and cook.  I used the toothpick method to make sure the batter was cooked all the way through.  Once the toothpick came out clean, I put them in the warmed toaster oven to keep warm and I cooked the second batch.

The recipe I found said that you’d be able to get 6 pancakes from the amount of batter made. I made 8 with a little left over, but that’s because I make smaller pancakes (I’m not a good flipper).

Keith said they were really good, but I thought they tasted a little too much like pumpkin pie.  If you like pumpkin pie, you’ll most likely love these pancakes!

One response to “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    pumpkins again?!?!? lol this could be considered an addiction at this point. Mayonaise, step AWAY from the pumpkin

Leave a Reply

