Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

I have been in the mood to make bread lately, but I haven’t wanted to pull out my bread maker because it’s buried behind a few bags of chips, a box of crackers, and a package of Nutter Butters.  I have a feeling if I start messing with the Nutter Butters, I may lose track of what my ultimate goal was! 🙂

I know logically making a quick bread dough without a bread maker isn’t difficult or time-consuming, but the phrase “making bread” brings up an image of a messy kitchen and sore muscles! Quick bread dough is dough that doesn’t have yeast in it, so it doesn’t require kneading or time to rise.  Hence, the name “quick bread”.  🙂

Anyway, I had about 2/3 of a can of pumpkin leftover from my pumpkin pancakes the other day and didn’t want it to go to waste.  I looked on the internet for an easy recipe for pumpkin bread that I could stick in the oven.  I found one on the Taste of Home and I’m excited to tell yall about it!

Here’s what I did (I doubled the recipe to use all the pumpkin I had left):
Take 3 cups and 4 tablespoons of flour, and mix it with 1 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. The recipe calls for you to add nutmeg, but I didn’t have any. I usually use allspice, but I couldn’t find it and figured it would taste good without it  🙂

In a second, smaller bowl, mix 1 cup of pumpkin, 1/2 cup of oil (I used olive oil), 2 eggs, 6 tablespoons of yoghurt*, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and a 1/2 cup of Craisins (I used the Ocean Spray Cherry flavored ones. That was the only flavor they had at the exchange when I went shopping…).

*The recipe called for 6 tablespoons of buttermilk, but I did a little research on the internet and found that if the main flavor of the baked good isn’t going to be buttermilk, you can get away with using the tangy kind of yogurt they sell at the grocery store.  Plus, that’s what I had in the fridge 🙂

Next, after you mix all the ingredients in 2 separate bowls, you pour the bowl with the pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture.  Make sure you mix it just until it’s moistened (remember what I said about the gluten being released).

After everything is mixed, gently stir in the dried cranberries. Once they are all incorporated in the dough, divide the dough into 6 mini loaf pans (if you used my measurements, it’ll be 6. If you used the original recipe, it’ll be 3 pans).

Pop em in a 350*F (176*C) oven for about 25 minutes or until they pass the toothpick test.  I used larger disposable pans and I cooked mine for about 45 minutes.

After they’re out of the oven, let them cool for about 10 minutes IN the pan, then turn them out onto a cooling rack (so that their “bottoms” don’t get soggy!)

3 responses to “Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

  1. ok, I think I may be changing my mind about pumpkin……this bread looks GOOD!!!

  2. I wonder how it would taste with freshly dried cranberries?!?!?!

    I love seeing how your blog writing evolves! Definitely had me LOLing when you mentioned the Nutter Butter distraction! 🙂

Leave a Reply

