Mini Meatloaf Muffins

I am not a fan of meatloaf.  I didn’t grow up eating it and a big chunk of ground beef seems kinda gross to me (I have to convince myself it’s like a really thick hamburger). I tried making it in the first 6 months we were married, and it was more or less a disaster….and I haven’t made it again. Until Now.  I think that the problem last time was that it was in a big loaf and it wasn’t quite cooked all the way in the middle.

This time I made muffin sized meatloaf.  It’s easier to control the portion and you can freeze the rest for a future meal.  I searched all over the internet for a recipe that listed ingredients I already had in my pantry. I didn’t find any (I’m sure one is out there, but Google didn’t let me know about it!). So I made my own from all the others that I read.

Here’s what I did:
Mix together 2/3 cups of bread crumbs,  1 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing mix (the dry powdered stuff), 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of water in a bowl. Then add 1 pound of raw hamburger meat.  As usual I tried to start out being nice and neat using a fork, but just like the meatballs, I broke down and used my hands….it really wasn’t so bad this time! 🙂

After everything is mixed evenly, grease your muffin pan with either baking spray or shortening. I use shortening for my silicone muffin pan because somehow the silicone absorbs stuff and I trust Crisco better than all the chemicals in the baking spray…but that’s just me! Use whatever you wanna use to grease the muffin pan.

Now, after the pan is greased, put about 1/2 cup of meat mixture into each well.  Don’t smoosh it into the well, but make sure that it’s all even.  After that, smear about a 1/2 tablespoon of barbeque sauce over the top and pop em into a 350*F (175*C) oven for about 45 minutes.

I baked mine until the internal temp read at least 160*F. That’s the temperature beef needs to reach for the bacteria to “disappear”.

Once they are cooked, let them chill out in the muffin pans for about 10 minutes for everything to cool off.  If you take them out of the muffin pan right away, your beef will more than likely fall apart and you’ll just have a meatloaf crumble instead of a muffin.  Once they were ready to eat, I spread a little more barbeque sauce on the top of mine.

It’s 5 o’clock somewhere….

Leave a Reply

