Our Early Thanksgiving Dinner

So, we’re headed over to some friend’s house for Thanksgiving.  But at the same time I wanted to cook my own Thanksgiving “dinner”.  Since Keith was off work today, I decided (at about 3 pm) I wanted to have Thanksgiving tonight 🙂

I was planning on making some venison steaks that I got from Sarah.  But we ate hot dogs for a late lunch (right before I decided I wanted it to be thanksgiving…) and so neither of us were too hungry.  Keith and I are both hunters and we LOVE venison steaks, so we want to save them for a night that we can savor them.

I decided on some small porkchops, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes and gravy (the gravy is also courtesy of Sarah), and stuffing. For dessert, I spent my afternoon making pumpkin cookies.  Tomorrow, I’ll post the recipe for the cookies.

For the pork chops, I marinaded them with the Lawry’s “Marinade in Minutes” packet that I got from Sarah.  Since I had my oven already preheated from the cookies and the green bean casserole, I baked them at 350*F (175*C) for about 30-45 minutes or until the internal temperature at the thickest part of the chop reaches at least 140*F.

For my first experience cooking cranberry sauce, I stirred together 1 cup of orange juice and 1 cup of sugar. I waited for it to boil, then added a 12 oz bag of fresh, rinsed cranberries.  I kept it boiling until most of the cranberries had popped out of their skin.  After they were finished, I poured it all into a bowl and stuck it in the fridge for about 3 hours.

The green bean casserole came from the back of the French’s fried onion can.  You just mix a can of cream of mushroom (We don’t like mushrooms, so I substituted cream of chicken), 3/4 cup of milk, 2 can of drained green beans, and a 1/2 cup of fried ovens.  Pour it in a baking dish, and pop it in the oven for about 30 minutes or til it’s hot.  Stir it up and top it with more fried onions. Stick it in the oven for about 5 more minutes.  After that, let it stand for about 5 minutes to cool and for the sauce to thicken.

The mashed potatoes were from a box….I know that real potatoes are better, but we just don’t eat enough at one sitting to justify buying real ones.  Flakes are pretty good though!

The stuffing was made from a Stove-Top box. I added 1 1/2 cups of water and 3 tablespoons of butter and popped it in the microwave for about 5 minutes after covering it with plastic wrap.

I also opened a can of cranberry sauce for Keith….he doesn’t like the flavor of fresh cranberry sauce, so I found a small can for him!

The last “dish” I made was turkey gravy from a McCormick packet I got from the exchange….If I would have had a turkey, you’d better believe it wouldn’t have been from a packet but sadly, I didn’t buy a turkey this year.

Happy (early) Thanksgiving!!!

 

 

One response to “Our Early Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. I am jealous =(

Leave a Reply

