“Leftover Cranberry Sauce” Muffins

For our Thanksgiving, I made homemade cranberry sauce, but since I was the only one to eat it I had a LOT left! I searched the internet for ideas about how to use leftover cranberry sauce….I found tons of suggestions to use it for marinades and sauces for meat, but that wasn’t how I really wanted to use it.  I mean, I paid $4 for these suckers! I want to use them to make something GOOD! 

I gave up on my search for ideas and just started looking up recipes for muffins with fruit.  I figured I could add a little more sugar and add in the tangy cranberry sauce I had. 

So, here’s what I did:
I mixed 3/4 cups of milk with 1/4 cup of oil (I used extra light extra virgin olive oil because that’s what I had in the cabinet) and 1 egg. 

In a second bowl I mixed 1 3/4 cups of flour, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 cup of sugar. 

Next, I made a “well” in the dry ingredients and poured the milk/egg/oil mixture into it.  I stirred it until it was mixed, but still lumpy.  After it was all mixed, I gently stirred in about 2/3 cups of my cranberry sauce. 

I made about 36 mini-muffins, but the batter should also make 12 regular sized muffins. 

After you get the batter in your muffin tins, pop em into a 375*F (200*C) oven for about 11 minutes for mini muffins or about 18 minutes for regular sized muffins. 

I think these are the BEST muffins I have ever tasted!  These are definitely muffins and not cupcakes though.

4 responses to ““Leftover Cranberry Sauce” Muffins

  1. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    Better than the pumpkin choc chips ones?!!? I doubt it! = ) Did K like them?

  2. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    the punch is the best part!

Leave a Reply

