Iced Pumpkin Cookies

There’s a cookie contest at the exchange on base coming up and I am searching for new cookie recipes because I want to WIN!  After searching the internet for a few days, I decided I wanted to make a “seasonal” cookie.  So, I pulled up the Very Best Baking website for a good pumpkin recipe.

Here’s what ya do (I halved the recipe):
In one bowl, mix 2 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon of allspice.  Now, set that bowl aside…

In a bigger bowl, beat 1 cup of shortening and 1 cup of sugar together.  After that’s mixed, add in 1/2 can (or 1 cup) of pumpkin, 1 egg, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.  Mix all that together.

Next, slowly add the flour mixture to the pumpkin batter.  When I say “slowly”, I mean just add a little bit of the flour to the bowl and mix it until it’s incorporated, then add a little more, beating in between until all the flour is mixed in.  I recommend using a hand mixer or expect to get a really, really good arm workout! 🙂

After everything is beat together and you think you’re done mixing, mix in a cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup of nuts (I used chopped pecans).

Now slap em onto a cookie sheet in tablespoon sized lumps and bake em for about 15 to 17 minutes at 350*F or 175*C.

The original recipe calls for you to ice them, but I wanted to keep these SOMEWHAT healthy, so I opted not to do that!

An obnoxiously huge yacht I saw from our living room this afternoon!

One response to “Iced Pumpkin Cookies

  1. Oooh, I’m such a sucker for pumpkin anything. They look yummy!

Leave a Reply

