Chili Mac

When Keith and I first moved to Bahrain and went through the “chow line” on base, he told me that the chow line chili mac was his favorite offering.  I stored that little bit of information away and I finally came up with a great recipe!

Here’s what I did:
I browned 1 pound of ground beef with a medium onion that had been chopped. After it was nice and browned, I added 2 little cans of tomato paste, 1 can of undrained kidney beans, 1 teaspoon of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 of a box (8 oz) of uncooked elbow macaroni.

I covered the skillet and let it simmer for about 5 minutes and then freaked out because I realized I forgot to add a cup of water to it! I added the water and let it simmer for about 10 or 15 more minutes, so that the noodles are softened.

After I checked the noodles, I stirred in 1 cup of shredded cheese and kept it simmering til the cheese was incorporated. I used about 3/4 of a block of Colby Jack cheese that added a little bit more to the dish than I think regular Cheddar would.

Keith said it was better than his chow line chili mac, so I think this may be a repeat on a regular basis!

We had steamed veggies with the chili mac for dinner.

3 responses to “Chili Mac

  1. This sounds like a really creative and fun recipe. I love this flavourful chili mac. It sounds comforting, and perfect for cold night dinner 🙂

  2. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    you freeze any of this? = )

Leave a Reply

