Pea Salad

Hey Yall!  Sorry it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted…I just haven’t been feeling that blog-ish lately.  But, I’m back now with some pea salad.

Growing up, I had never heard of pea salad. During college in Deep East Texas, I still hadn’t ever heard of it.  I was introduced to pea salad during a lunch break with a co-worker at one of my previous jobs and I’ve been hooked on it ever since! It’s amazing that I’ve never heard of it because it’s just a simple dish!

Here’s what ya do:
Hard-boil (see note below) and peel 3 eggs.  After they’re peeled, chop em up into 12 pieces each.  You can use as many eggs as you want.  I boiled 3, but only put 1 3/4 in the salad because Keith isn’t that big of a fan of hard-boiled eggs.

While the eggs are boiling, chop up about a half of a block of Cheddar cheese.  You can be fancy and use a different kind of cheese, but in my experience plain ol’ cheddar works the best.

Next, chop half of a purple onion and dump it in the bowl with the cheese and egg pieces.  Then, pour in 15 oz of peas. You can use the canned peas, but make sure they’re drained before you mix em in. I used 1/2 of a bag of frozen petite peas I found at the exchange today.

Some of the recipes that I referenced online called for 1/4 cup of Miracle Whip to be used as the “glue”, but I found that it wasn’t nearly enough for a creamy pea salad! I probably added about 2/3 of a cup to my bowl.

Stir all of your ingredients together GENTLY.  You don’t want the peas to break and fall apart…that would just be gross.

After that step, you can put the pea salad in the fridge to let the flavors set.  If you choose to do that, make sure you put the salad in an airtight container (not a baggie) unless you want your whole refrigerator to smell like onions!

A note on hard-boiling eggs:  I have never figured out how to boil eggs without that neat little egg shaped timer that you put in the pan with the eggs and boiling water.  You know the one I’m talking about right?  Well, I finally figured out the secret after looking it up on the internet several times!  Put your eggs in a saucepan and cover them with cold or room temperature water.  Put the pan on the burner, and just as soon as the water starts to boil, remove it from the heat, cover it, and let it stand for about 15-20 minutes.  After the time is up, move the eggs to a bowl filled with cold water and let the eggs cool completely (I stick the bowl in the fridge)!

2 responses to “Pea Salad

  1. hmmm…..I love pea salad, too. How come I never made it at home?? lol

Leave a Reply

