Pimento Cheese

So, a while ago Keith asked if I had ever seen pimento cheese at the exchange…the question came out of the blue and after I had told him that I hadn’t ever noticed it, the subject didn’t come up again–until a few days ago!

Keith emailed me from work letting me know that he put in a special order with the manager for pimento cheese to be stocked at the exchange.  I told him that we could always look out in town for it and if all else failed I could whip some up.

When I told him that, I only knew it was the orange stuff that went inside celery for the veggie tray for Thanksgiving at Grandma and Grandpa’s.  I started looking up recipes for it online and discovered it was a “southern thing”, somewhat of a comfort food.

I decided to try a recipe I found online and since Keith was off work today we went on a scouting trip to the grocery stores across the island to find some pimentos.  We weren’t entirely sure that we would come across any, but we went to 4 grocery stores in a 3 hours and finally found them!  They weren’t in a cute little jar all diced up for us, but in a small can needing to be diced.

In honor of Patti’s Kitchen getting 1,000 views, Keith encouraged me to make a video of this recipe that is near and dear to him.

Here’s what ya do:
Grate 16 oz of sharp cheddar cheese (I used the Cracker Barrel brand).  Add 4 oz of diced pimentos. Stir in 1/2 of a cup of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of Miracle Whip, 1 teaspoon of pepper, 1/8 of a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, a few splashes of Pete’s hot sauce, and a few splashes of Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce.

Mix it all together and stick it in the fridge to chill before you make it into a sandwich! 🙂

Leave a Reply

