Bisquick Sugar Cookies

Keith is at work on Christmas Day, and I was in the mood to bake but I was COMPLETELY out of sugar.  Well, except for about 20 little sugar packets. I only had about 2/3 of a cup of flour, but about 4 cups of Bisquick.

I hopped on the computer and went to BettyCrocker.com and searched for what I could make with Bisquick.  I found several recipes for food-food, but nothing for desserts or sweet treats, until I came across the recipe for sugar cookies.

The recipe got some bad reviews, but I don’t see how people can’t like these cookies!

Here’s what ya do:
Mix 4 cups of Bisquick, 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 3/4 cups of room temperature butter, 1 teaspoon of almond extract, and 2 eggs.  I cut the butter in with a fork, but once I got the eggs and butter somewhat mixed in, I abandoned the fork and used my hands.

The recipe calls for you to roll the cookies into 1 inch balls and roll them in sugar, but since I needed to be stingy with my sugar packets, I altered this part of the recipe.

I made colored sugar and just dipped the tops of the dough balls in it. To make colored sugar, you scoop some sugar into a sealable container, add some food coloring (I did 13 drops for 11 packets of sugar), seal the container up, and then shake it up til you see that it’s mixed.  If I would have known it was that simple, I would have started using colored sugar a LONG time ago!

Ok, back to the recipe: Once you get the dough all mixed together, scoop out the dough by tablespoons (I use my measuring spoon for this).  After you roll the dough into a little ball, either roll it around in the colored sugar container or just dip it in and place the dough ball with the sugar side up.

Then, flatten the dough ball just a little bit with the bottom of a drinking glass.  Pop the cookie sheet in the 400*F (205*C) oven for about 5-7 minutes or until the undersides are lightly browned.  I got roughly 36 cookies out of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

