Miracle Soup

For the past few days, I’ve been wanting to make soup. And I finally did! It started out as a clean-out-the-pantry-and-get-rid-of-all-eight-million-cans-of-beans soup.

Apparently, my experiment was a total success because I just got an email from Keith at work: “OOOOOHHH MMYYYY GGOOOODDDDNNEESSSSSS!!!!! That soup was so good! Every piece of bread I dipped in it came out so wonderful. Thank you (bowing low on my knees to you) Thank you!!!!” I’m assuming that he liked it.   🙂

Here’s what I did:
Take 3 cans of beans (I used 2 cans of pintos and a can of black beans), drain and rinse them, then pour them into your slow-cooker.  Add 2 cups of corn (I used frozen corn), 1 can of Ro-Tel, 3 cups of chicken broth, and a pound of ground turkey (I’m sure you can use any kind of ground meat, but we have 5 pounds of ground turkey in the freezer!).

Let your slow cooker cook on high for about 3 hours.  Once it’s reached that amount of time, add in 4 slices of roughly chopped bacon and the grease that it gave off.  I know it’s completely unhealthy, but it sure does add a ton of flavor.  Next, add about 3 tablespoons of herbs de provence and a few sprinkles of salt.

Let the soup cook for about 45 more minutes.  Once it does, serve it up and get ready for some compliments!

If you aren’t a slow-cooker owner, I’m sure you can do this in a soup pot on the stove.  Just cook everything in the same order, but on medium high heat for probably and hour or so…I haven’t ever tried to convert a recipe from a slow-cooker to stove top so if you try, let me know how it works out!

2 responses to “Miracle Soup

  1. I can see why Keith likes this…..it looks so good!!

  2. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

