Bread Machine Cornbread

I have always used Jiffy Corn Mix to make cornbread because I’m pretty sure that’s what I always saw my parents use, but after today I don’t think I’ll ever go back to the cornbread in a box…

I have found the ultimate (in my opinion) recipe for cornbread.  Now, it’s not “Texas-style” cornbread because it does have sugar in it.  I know that most southerners say that cornbread doesn’t have sugar, but I think that everyone should at least TRY this recipe!

Here’s what I did:
I melted 1/4 cup of salted butter and poured it into my bread machine bucket, added 1 cup of milk and 2 eggs.  Next, I poured in 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 teaspoon of salt.  Then, I added 1/4 cup of sugar and 4 teaspoons of baking powder.  On top of this, I added 1 1/4 cups of flour and 1 cup of cornmeal.

After I had everything in my bread machine bucket, I set the machine on the quick bread setting.  The cycle took about an hour and a half.

I was planning on having it for dinner tomorrow, but I think I may just keep this loaf to myself!

Leave a Reply

