Grandma’s Spicy Crackers

Keith and I went camping with a couple of friends last night and in anticipation of the event, I made Spicy Crackers.  Several years ago, my grandma made these when she came to visit and once I moved away from home, I begged my mom to get the “recipe”.

Photo courtesy of Hannah. I forgot our camera at home.

Here’s what ya do:
Take one bag of Triscuits (my version) or Saltine (grandma’s version) crackers and pour them into a gallon freezer baggie.  Don’t get one of the regular baggies because somehow or another, the oil always gets through…

Next, measure out 1 1/3 cups of oil (I use olive, but veggie oil is okay too), 3 tablespoons of red pepper flakes, you know, the kind that comes with the pizza delivery.  Then add in 1 packet of dry ranch dressing mix.  Stir it all up together, then pour the mixture into the bag with your crackers.  You can adjust the amount of pepper flakes according to how spicy you like your food.

Seal up the bag and mush the mixture around the crackers. Let the baggie set on one side for about 6-8 hours, then turn it over and let the mixture move through the crackers to the other side for about 6 more hours.  The longer they soak, the more the oil mixture is absorbed into the crackers. I wouldn’t recommend letting them soak for more than 24 hours though…

One response to “Grandma’s Spicy Crackers

  1. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    YUMMY!!!

Leave a Reply

