Cake Mix Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was in the mood to bake today, but I only had about 3/4 cups of flour left, so I dug out a cookbook I got from some friends a couple of years ago for my birthday.

Here’s what ya do:
Take 1/2 of a box of yellow (or white) cake mix and blend it with 1/2 cup of butter, 2 eggs, and about a tablespoon of vanilla (the original recipe calls for 1 teaspoon, but I like vanilla in my cookies!).

After it’s all blended add the rest of the powdered cake mix and 1 bag of chocolate chips. The book calls for you to use 1 6oz bag of chocolate chips, but I dumped a big 12oz bag of chips in, so they’re extra chocolate chip-y.

Plop 1 tablespoon blobs on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for about 15-20 minutes at 350*F (175*C).

After you take them out of the oven, let them cool on the cookie sheet before you move them to the racks.

When Keith ventured into the kitchen to check if the first batch of cookies was done, he looked at them still in the oven and quoted Calvin and Hobbs “Repent sinners, the end is near!”  It’s from the comic strip where the snowmen are melting.  He said the cookies looked like snowmen melting.

Just like my Brown Sugar Blondies, make sure you have a big glass of milk ready!

Leave a Reply

