Shepards Pie

I’m starting to “pantry cook” since all of our household goods have been packed away and I don’t want to have to give away too much food before we leave.  I have planned out a menu for 2 weeks where all I had to buy was some mozzarella and ricotta cheese.  I planned it, now lets see if I’ll cook it!  The first meal I made was Shepards Pie that is loosely based on Rachael Ray’s version.  I used a few of the spices that she suggested, but that’s about it. I was a little doubtful that it would be a famous “30-minute meal”, but sure enough, it was!

I forgot to take a picture with the mashed potatoes on top, but
I figure you can imagine what mashed potatoes would look like on top!

Here’s what I did:
I cooked 3 slices of bacon in the skillet and then cut them up into about 1 inch pieces.  In the same skillet, I browned a pound of ground turkey.

After the turkey was browned, I added the bacon to it and let it cook a little longer. I also added a little onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt, pepper, and some worcestershire sauce to the skillet.

When everything was heated up, I added about 1/2 of a bag of mixed veggies and a cup of corn. I turned the heat back up to high and let the veggies cook a little.

While the veggies were heating, I made some mashed potatoes in the microwave from my box of potato flakes.

Once the mashed potatoes were cooked, I scooped a serving of the meat mixture into a bowl and heaped a big spoonful of mashed potatoes on top of it.

I added a small bowl of applesauce and it made for a simple and quick meal!

It’s a rare gloomy day in the Kingdom of Bahrain!

Leave a Reply

