Turkey Baked Ziti

I’ve been trying to empty my freezer, but I had about 5 pounds of turkey to use up, so I “googled” casseroles that used ground turkey.  Robin Miller from the Food Network has a great recipe that uses sweet turkey sausage, so I based my dish off of that recipe but I tweaked it to fit the things that I had in my kitchen already.

Here’s what I did:
I got Keith to brown a pound of turkey while I boiled a box of ziti pasta noodles.  After the turkey was browned, I added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I used the “plain” flavor of stewed tomatoes, but I think that the other flavors would be good too.  I also added a big spoon full of spaghetti sauce for extra flavor, then let it simmer for about 5 minutes or so.

The meat sauce simmering

While I was letting the meat sauce simmer, I mixed together a 15 oz container of fat-free ricotta cheese and a small package of mozzarella  cheese.  The package said it was 200 grams, but the recipe from the Food Network called for 4 cups, so it’s really up to you how much you choose to use.  I also added 1 tablespoon of garlic powder as well.

The ricotta cheese mixture is mixed.

After everything was prepared (the pasta drained, the meat sauce, and the cheese mixture), I put a little sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 pan.  The original recipe called for a 4 quart casserole dish, but I was able to fit everything in a 9×13 dish and a 6 inch round dish.  I poured in just enough sauce to barely coat the bottom of the pan so that the noodles wouldn’t stick and burn.

The yummy noodles (and my hand).

Next, I layered half of the noodles. Then, I added half of the cheese mixture.  After that, I layered more sauce, noodles, and cheese. Last, I layered the rest of the meat sauce to cover the whole kit and kaboodle.  Robin’s recipe called for mozzarella and parmesan cheese to be sprinkled on top, but I forgot to set aside any mozzarella cheese, so I ended up with just parmesan cheese on top.

Keith sprinkling the parmesan cheese.

I baked the dish for about 30 minutes at 350*F (175*C) while it was covered with foil.  Then I uncovered it and baked for 15 more minutes.

After letting it “set” for about 10 minutes after baking time, we dug in!

2 responses to “Turkey Baked Ziti

  1. bloodlovehopeluststeam

    looks delish!!

  2. yum…..I love anything with noodles in it, so this looks great!

Leave a Reply

