Cinnamon Rolls

I haven’t been cooking much lately, since I’m trying to empty out my freezer, but I decided to make cinnamon rolls for dinner tonight.

Here’s what I did:
I took 3 cups of Bisquick, 3/4 cup of milk, and 1 egg and mixed them together.  After they were all mixed together well, it didn’t really look like a good batter, but I turned it out on a Bisquick-dusted counter and kneaded it about 10 times to get it all stretchy.

Before you start kneading it, I would highly suggest to coat your hand in butter.  Remember my doughnut post and the problems I had with the batter sticking to me? Trust me when I suggest something to prevent getting dough ALL over! 🙂  Make sure dust the countertop with plenty of Bisquick too.

Next, roll the dough out to about a 9×13 square. I don’t currently have a rolling pin, so I covered a can of spaghetti sauce with foil and used that to help me out.

After you get it rolled out, coat the dough with about 2 tablespoons of melted or softened butter (I used melted because it’s more fun!).  Then, sprinkle about 1/4 cup of sugar and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon on it.  I didn’t really measure out my cinnamon because Keith loves cinnamon on everything, but I think a good amount would be about 2 tablespoons.  You can use as much butter, sugar, or cinnamon you want to–I think next time I’ll use more of each because I think cinnamon rolls should be indulgent! I might add raisins or chocolate chips too…..just imagine the possiblities! Yum!

When you have all your spices sprinkled over the dough, take the longer edge furthest from you and start rolling it towards you.  I found that I had to use a spatula to “peel” the dough off of the countertop because the Bisquick that I spread on the counter was absorbed.  Don’t rush this step because this will be each layer of each individual roll.

After you have rolled it into a log, cut each piece into about 1 inch slices and place either on a cookie sheet or in a baking dish.  I crowded my dish and I wouldn’t recommend it because then the dough poofs up instead of out and it makes for a really thick cinnamon roll, but if you like yours really tall and skinny go ahead and crowd the dish! 🙂  Remember, recipes are just guidelines…you can always customize when you’re cooking.

Once you have all your cinnamon rolls situated how you want them, pop em into a 400*F (205*C) oven for about 20 minutes.  I had to cook mine a little longer because they didn’t pass the toothpick test after that amount of time.

Once they’re done, spread icing on them before they cool.  I used some leftover canned frosting, but I think any kind of sweet frosting would work just fine.  I think I might try some cream cheese frosting next time.

One response to “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. are these calorie-free??!!?? lol

Leave a Reply

