Black Bean Brownies

A while back, a friend (Hi, Blake) loaned me a healthy cookbook and I finally made a recipe out of it.

Here’s what I did (I doubled the recipe):
I mixed together  3 cups of drained black beans (it was about 2 cans), 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder, and 3 eggs in a bowl til the consistency is smooth (the recipe called for 2 tablespoons of espresso powder, but I skipped that because I don’t have any!).  I ran into a bit of a conundrum with this part because the original recipe calls your you to process it in a food processor. The movers packed mine up, so I put the beans in a bowl and smushed them with the back of a spoon.  My consistency was pretty smooth, but probably not as smooth as Rocco would have gotten it!

Keith and I taste-tested!

Next, add in 4 tablespoons of low-cal, sugar-free chocolate syrup, 4 tablespoons of reduced-fat sour cream, 2 tablespoons of melted butter, 1 cup of Splenda (or whatever sugar substitute you prefer), and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.  Mix this all together til it’s smooth again.  The recipe calls for you to process it again, but my whisk worked just fine.

Now, pour the batter into a greased baking pan.  The original recipe calls for an 8×8 pan, but since I doubled it I put it in a 9×13 pan.

Pop it in the oven for about 35-40 minutes, or until it passes the toothpick test.  After the pan cools, you can cut it into 24 pieces and it comes out to about 53 calories per brownie.  I sprinkled a few chocolate chips on top and I only made 20 brownies, so my calorie count wasn’t quite that low!

Leave a Reply

