Enchilada Nachos

A few weeks ago, I “took inventory” of my pantry and noticed that I had a can of enchilada sauce. Now, I’m not quite sure why I bought the can because I haven’t been able to find corn tortillas to make any enchiladas in about 18 months!

So I started looking online for meals to use the enchilada sauce.  The only recipes I found were how to MAKE enchilada sauce….and I certainly didn’t need any of those!

I ended up making nachos with the sauce drizzled on top of them last night for dinner.  It was a bit of an experiment, but Keith didn’t know that and he liked em!

We ate em right off the baking sheet!

Here’s what I did:
I layered tortilla chips on a baking sheet (I used the little scooper chips), then sprinkled grated cheese over them.  I used a cheddar and Monterey jack block of cheese I shredded myself because the Mexican blend bag of cheese is $7 at the exchange and I refuse to pay that much for cheese!!

ANYWAY, after I sprinkled the  cheese, I cut up some leftover chicken breasts into itty-bitty pieces and sprinkled them over the cheesy chips.  After that, I drizzled the enchilada sauce over it all.  The can I had was the Hot kind, and that’s usually way too hot for me, but I think it was the perfect heat level for the nachos.

After I had loaded everything on the chips, I stuck the tray into a preheated 350*F (175*C) oven to melt the cheese and heat everything up.

The nachos tasted a lot like enchiladas, but with just a little extra crispiness.  And it only took about 40 minutes to prepare and devour it all! I think they would make a great appetizer, but they were a great dinner too!

One response to “Enchilada Nachos

  1. yum….another good recipe!!

Leave a Reply

